Skip to content

The National Football League Conferences

Nowadays, the National Football League (NFL) is split into 2 conferences: the American Football Conference (AFC) as well as the National Football Conference (NFC). Each seminar consists of sixteen teams and it is split into 4 divisions – East, North, West, plus South – of 4 teams each.

These division titles do not necessarily correspond to geographic areas of the nation, however. For instance, the St. Louis Rams are in the NFC West, though St. Louis is smack dab in the center of the United States.
The American Football Conference

Listed here are the 4 local divisions because of the American Football Conference (AFC):

East Division: Buffalo Bills, New York, New England Patriots, Miami Dolphins Jets

West Division: Denver Broncos, San Diego, Oakland Raiders, Kansas City Chiefs Chargers

North Division: Baltimore Ravens, Cincinnati Bengals, Cleveland Browns, Pittsburgh Steelers

South Division: Houston Texans, Jacksonville Jaguars, Indianapolis Colts, Tennessee Titans

These teams in NFL were once with the existing American Football League (AFL):

Buffalo Bills

Miami Dolphins

Brand new England Patriots

Brand new York Jets

Denver Broncos

Kansas City Chiefs

Oakland Raiders

San Diego Chargers

Cincinnati Bengals

Tennessee Titans

The National Football Conference

The National Football Conference (NFC) is split into the next local groups:

East Division: Dallas Cowboys, Washington, Philadelphia Eagles, New York Giants Redskins

West Division: Arizona Cardinals, St. Louis Rams, San Francisco 49ers, Seattle Seahawks

North Division: Chicago Bears, Minnesota, Green Bay Packers, Detroit Lions Vikings

South Division: Atlanta Falcons, Tampa Bay, New Orleans Saints, Carolina Panthers Buccaneers

These 3 teams once formed the initial NFL:

Arizona Cardinals

Chicago Bears

Green Bay Packers